paper cut

Somehow with months and months of envelope-stuffing under my belt (I’ve had the misfortune to have had three jobs in which stuffing hundreds of envelopes a day was commonplace), I have just now experienced my first paper cut from said activity. How does such a minute parting of skin feel like the rending of a limb from trunk? I’ve had actual facial reconstruction surgery, including the cutting and repositioning of my jaw. I experience the agonizing purge of literal pieces of my body each month. And yet this paper cut has brought my to my knees. It’s like my finger is having its own period.

Not to be dramatic or anything.

I’ve been sitting here for an actual half hour trying to think of something else to write about, but all I can think about is how my finger feels like it’s giving birth. So that’s it for today.

Leave a Reply

